Renate von Löwis of Menar

Textile Art / Textile Design / Fashion Design / Set Design

Based in Hamburg since 2000.

Art

Textile design

  • Small carpet and cushion collections, on order basis
  • Specialization in the production of unique pieces

If the customer is interested, he/she can contact me by e-mail and tell me what he/she wants. If I make a design, it will cost about 500€, but in the end it will be charged with the final price.

Fashion design

  • One of a kind hand knitted products, like sweaters, jackets, scarves etc. 
  • Designs for t-shirt prints, for bands
  • Costume jewelry

Workshops

  • Weaving and design for beginners and advanced students
  • Spinning courses

I work in a modern and spunky way, which for me means first of all creating things with bright colors and sometimes with unusual shapes. I find my inspiration in nature, but also on walks through the city. When an interesting color combination crosses my path, I quickly make a little color sketch at home and file it in my little color archive. But the main inspirations for me are the Bauhaus movement and the world of haute couture fashion. Here I merge two very opposite fields. On the one hand understatement and functionality, on the other hand bold and sometimes overloaded and sometimes non-functional but very impressive creations.

I want to create "eye candy", my main goal is to make pieces that give the viewer pleasure to look at. But my tapestries additionally have a unique feel, which is very pleasant. 

My main work are the tapestries, which consist of an interplay of flat woven and knotted raised surfaces. For this I use the over 2000 years old Ghiordes knot, which I have changed in the technique so that it is easier for me from the hand. 

Prefabricated designs and drawings, I use only for my design work and ordered unique pieces, all pieces that are to be classified in the art area, are created freely, without any templates.

I live in Hamburg, on St. Pauli, in a very inspiring very nice neighborhood, with many small stores, galleries and cafes. Many artists have settled here over the last 30 years. I like to compare St. Pauli with the little Gallic village from the Asterix & Obelix comic. 

EN

Renate von Löwis of Menar

Textilkünstlerin / Textildesignerin / Fashion Design / Set Design

Seit 2000 mit Sitz in Hamburg.

Kunst

Textildesign

  • Kleine Teppich und Kissen Kollektionen, auf Bestellbasis
  • Spezialisierung auf die Anfertigung von Einzelstücken

Bei Interesse, kann der/die Kunde/in per E-mail mit mir in Verbindung treten und mit mir den Wunsch mitteilen. Wenn ich einen Entwurf anfertige, kostet das ca 500€, welche aber am Ende mit dem Endpreis verrechnet werden.

Modedesign

  • Einzelanfertigung von handgestrickten Produkten, wie Pullover, Jacken, Schals etc. 
  • Entwürfe für T-Shirt Drucke, für Bands
  • Modeschmuck

Workshops

  • Weben und Gestaltung für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene
  • Spinnkurse

Ich arbeite modern und couragiert, das bedeutet für mich in erster Linie Dinge zu kreieren, die mit leuchtenden Farben und manchmal mit ungewöhnlichen Formen zu tun haben. Meine Inspiration finde ich in der Natur, aber auch auf Spaziergängen durch die Stadt. Wenn mir eine interessante Farbkombination über den Weg läuft, fertige ich zuhause schnell eine kleine Farbskizze an und lege sie in meinem kleinen Farbarchiv ab. Aber die Hauptinspirationen sind für mich die Bauhaus Bewegung und die Welt der Haute Couture Mode. Hier verschmelze ich zwei sehr gegensätzliche Felder miteinander. Zum einen Understatement und Funktionalität, zum anderen mutige und teilweise überladene und manchmal auch nicht funktionale aber sehr beeindruckende Kreationen.

Ich möchte „Eye Candy“ kreieren, mein Hauptziel ist es, Stücke herzustellen, die dem Betrachter  Freude beim anschauen bereiten. Aber meine Wandteppichen haben zusätzlich noch eine einzigartige Haptik, welche sehr angenehm ist. 

Meine hauptsächliche Arbeit sind die Tapisserien, welche aus einem Zusammenspiel aus flach gewebten und geknüpften erhabenen Flächen bestehen. Hierfür benutze ich den über 2000 Jahre alte Ghiordes Knoten, welchen ich in der Technik so verändert habe, dass er mir leichter von der Hand geht. 

Vorgefertigte Designs und Zeichnungen, benutze ich nur für meine Design Arbeit und bestellte Einzelstücke, alle Stücke die im Kunstbereich einzuordnen sind, entstehen frei, ganz ohne Vorlagen.

Ich lebe in Hamburg, auf St. Pauli, in einer sehr inspirierenden sehr netten Nachbarschaft, mit vielen kleinen Geschäften, Gallerien und Cafés. Viele Künstler haben sich hier im Laufe der letzten 30 Jahre angesiedelt. Ich vergleiche St. Pauli gerne mit dem kleinen Gallischen Dorf aus dem Asterix&Obelix Comic. 

DE